Sunday Morning Smile

Good Morning World!
Well, for those of you who didn’t see the glamorous pictures of me from yesterday’s attempt at running my first 17k charity race [some non-glamorous pics below], let me catch you up real quick:
I am running a Half Marathon on May 3rd in my hometown with my childhood best friend.

[pictured here with me during my semi-gangster Bad-a$$ phase at age 16].

[pictured here with me during my semi-gangster Bad-a$$ phase at age 16].

I have been running an avg of 25-30 miles a week for approximately 8 yrs. I have, however, never exceeded about 7 miles in one foul swing.
A Half Marathon is approximately 13.1 miles. So – almost 2x as far as my longest run at one time. Definitely something that requires some training.
From helping clients train in the past, I knew that when training for an event, experts recommend that you train to about 80% of whatever the event length is [this holds true for running, biking, swimming, etc]. After doing some math, I calculated that 80% of 13.1 miles is roughly 17K. I am blessed to live in a city that ALWAYS has something going on in the world of charity events and races of some kind. I swear there is a race for everything here in Phoenix –
Celebrate your Knees 5k!
Own a Ferret? Come out and jog with other Ferret Owners and Support the Local Ferret clans!
It’s Flag Day Everyone, Come Bring your Favorite Flag and Walk with Other Flag Owners to Support Your Right to Have Flags!
Long Story short, I was positive I could find a 17k going on at some point before May 3rd. The stars aligned and I found one. And just my luck, I didn’t need a Flag or a Ferret! The Kiss Me I’m Irish Run

BEFORE

BEFORE

 

DURING

DURING

TIME STAMP

TIME STAMP

AFTER

AFTER

Ok, so, I finished.
Without vomiting. Or losing control of bodily functions.
Although there were two separate occasions around the 4k and 6k mark where I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to say that.
I couldn’t sit or stand very well afterwards. But I did find some kind of energy from deep in my soul to sprint it out at the end and cross the Finish Line solo for what I hope is a more decent picture than the ones I got. As soon as the photographer posts those I will share.

I spent the remainder of yesterday pacing slowly around, napping out by my pool, getting a spa pedicure, and EATING. I burned approximately 1,445 cals running . I knew I needed a lot of recovery protein but my body was not wanting to digest very well as I had stressed it pretty severely and I think it was still in a stage of low-grade flight-or-flight adrenaline shock. I was able to eat something every few hours and it got easier as time went on.
My body, however, started setting up somewhat like cement and this morning as I write to you dear Readers I feel as though I have been in a moderate to severe car crash. I don’t have a headache which I am choosing as my silver lining. A silver lining I desperately need because every other nook and cranny, joint and ligament is screaming at me.
One thing that always makes me feel better is my morning coffee, which I have; and sweet childhood innocence.
I came across this video while doing some research for a client I am meeting with a little later and thought it was a good for at least one Sunday Morning Smile and, because I can’t resist, a little health education.


Enjoy, and be safe out there if you are planning to exercise your Right to Be Irish tomorrow!

One thought on “Sunday Morning Smile

Let Miss Fit know what you think!

