Sunday Morning Best

It’s the Weekend.
Sunday Morning to be exact.
Unless you live in a different Time Zone than me – – In which case you might already be at work Monday morning [my deepest sympathies]; or you may be able to still claim Saturday [in which case I could claim envy… and I just might…]

 Whether you are living Sunday, already lived it, or will be living it shortly, the fact remains that weekend breakfast is typically eaten amongst causal circumstances: friends, family, and the notion that since it’s being eaten later than usual one is free to consume the calories of both breakfast and lunch – a concept we have branded as “Brunch”.

                 bob evans                                cracker barrel

 Ah, yes, Brunch. If you live here in the States, just the very word brings thoughts of Bob Evans and Cracker Barrel dancing in your head… Biscuits and Gravy, Shrimp and Grits, Western Omelets, Country Fried Steaks, tall glasses of O.J. [the juice, not “The Juice” circa 1994], warm cups of coffee…
carolinaOr maybe the Carolina’s Breakfast Burrito is more your style? A little something to soak up the fermented sugar carbs [aka Beer, Liquor] of the night before, No?

Ok, being that I am a Realist, bordering on Optimist, with situational doses of Pessimism, I am going to just level with you and say, if you have one of the above x2 monthly and are moderately active: No big deal.

 If you are eating this way every weekend and are mostly sedentary: there is an increased likelihood you are setting yourself up for some serious health problems such as heart disease, stroke, hypertension [high blood pressure], and hyperlipidemia [high cholesterol/high tryglycerides or “blood fats”].

 What I want you to know is that there are healthier options for a lovely weekend brunch that are both lighter on your wallet and your waistline.

Oh – and this particular one I am sharing is Hangover-approved. Not that I recommend testing the theory – – as alcohol can seriously inhibit your ability to meet your fitness goals [look for an upcoming article titled The Hangover III for more on that topic] but like I said I am a Realist, bordering on Optimist, with situational doses of Pessimism – and my job is to meet my clients where they are at. I guarantee no matter what your habits are there are ways to improve your health without living a miserable Celery-Stick-Gym-Worshipping lifestyle. The combination of vitamins, minerals, protein, and carbs in this recipe is what makes it so dynamic for health, for hangovers, or for Hootenanny [if you still feel like you are missing out sans Cracker Barrel 

All righty then…. that being said, I shall get on with the Recipe.

 Two Eggs, a Waffle, and Some Strawberries.
Sounds lame. Or bland at best.
Definitely not the super powerhouse breakfast you were expecting from me?

Well I could have recommended a delightful recipe I came across recently that bragged about having 47 different antioxidants and all organic ingredients that you would need to buy a whole package of and never touch again [like Pepita Flour, Kale Krumbles, and Tahini] and take over 30 mins in prep work [i.e. seeding 10 pomegranates…YAWN]
BUT you and I both know – this is not practical or sustainable and therefore is NOT part of the MissFit plan.

 The beauty of this recipe lies in the fact that the ingredients are things you have heard of; they are not pricey, and they are versatile enough that you can use the individual ingredients again in other meals and not waste the money you did spend.

 The extent to which you wish to “power up” this recipe is entirely up to you. I always tailor my recommendations for seasonings and oils to my clients based on their unique situations [i.e. black pepper and garlic for cholesterol; coriander seeds for digestive ailments; sprinkle of cinnamon on the strawberries for my Diabetic clients, etc].

Feel free to send me a quick reply or confidential email write.with.ms@gmail.com and I would be happy to make recommendations for you.

 

Two Eggs, a Waffle, and Some Strawberries

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

 Ingredientssunday best
• ½ cup rinsed strawberries, sliced
• 2 eggs
• 2 tsp olive oil or flaxseed oil
• 1 waffle [ I used VAN’s Natural Foods Gluten Free; check your labels and stay away from ingredients you CANNOT pronounce; if it sounds like a chemical it probably is]
• Seasoning blend [black pepper, CHIA seeds, caraway seeds, coriander]
• Hot sauce to taste [I use Sriracha] *optional; if you are on the fence just know it does have metabolism-boosting properties which is essential for first meal of the day

 Directions
1. Use oil in pan to prevent sticking; allow pan to heat to medium temperature
2. Cook two eggs however you prefer them in said pan, sprinkle on seasonings and allow them to cook into the eggs
3. Place waffle in toaster, toast to medium [unlike my picture above where you can see I clearly burned mine. Do as I say, not as I do…]
4. While waffle and eggs are cooking, rinse off strawberries and slice into desired shape
5. Brew a cup of coffee * also optional; caffeine operates as a natural catalyst in the body and will help transport of nutrients and support metabolic processing; also good for that hangover I alluded to earlier, just make sure you have a glass of water as well.
6. Place completed ingredients on a plate, pour your beverage[s] and Enjoy!
7. Feel free to double the recipe for you and your Overnight Guest. Unless said Overnight Guest is directly related to said hangover? In which case, triple the recipe. Those kinds of nights rarely end in only one overnight guest

Nutritional Facts [including coffee with 2tbsp creamer]
Calories: 390; Fat: 4grams; Sugars: 10grams; Complex Carbs: 18grams; Fibers: 5 grams

 High in antioxidants, Vitamin C, potassium, folate, Manganese, and phosphorous

 Cost Analysis: $1.22 per serving

8 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Best

Let Miss Fit know what you think!

